Six Akeredolu aides resign to contest in 2019

No Comments

Six members of cabinet of Ondo State have resigned their appointments in order to contest various elective positions in the 2019 election.

The six are following orders by Governor Rotimi Akeredolu that all his political appointees who have obtained nomination forms for the All Progressives Congress, APC primary for the 2019 election should resign from his cabinet.

Akeredolu had in a press statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Segun Ajiboye directed as many of his appointees seeking elective positions to resign latest Monday September 17, 2018.


Those who have tendered their resignation letters included: Gboyega Adefarati, the Commissioner for Agriculture, Donald Ojogo, Commissioner for Lands and Housing, and Omowumi Olatunji, their Women Affairs and Social Welfare counterpart.

Others are Timeyin Adelegbe, Commissioner for Commerce, Victor Olabimtan, Special Adviser on Rural Development, and Jibayo Adeyeye, Special Adviser on Health.

Olabimtan is vying for a slot in the senate to represent Ondo North senatorial district, while the other five, Adefarati, Ojogo, Olatunji, Adelegbe and Adeyeye are vying for seats in the house of representatives to represent Akoko South, Ilaje/Ese-Odo, Akure South/North, Owo/Ose and Ondo East/West federal constituencies respectively.

The APC has scheduled the senatorial primaries to hold on Thursday, September 27, while the house of representatives primaries will hold on Saturday, September 29, 2018.

The party in the state has been enmeshed in crisis, with two factions emerging from different state congresses.

While the faction loyal to Governor Akeredolu has chosen indirect primary method as it's way of electing candidates, that headed by Idowu Otetubi insists it will go with the direct method.

Powered by Blogger.
back to top