Terrorism, insecurity due to political power struggle – Olafeso

No Comments
Ondo first lady, Betty Anyanwu-Akeredolu and Sen. Tayo Alasaodura at Ondo NUJ 2018 Special Press Week Awards & Dinner in Akure.

Dr. Eddy Olafeso, National Vice Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has hinged the formation of different terrorism groups on the struggle for political power among the political class.

Olafeso was speaking as keynote speaker at the dinner and awards night held in commemoration of the 2018 Special Press Week of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, Ondo State Council.

In his lecture titled "Nigeria's Security Challenges the Media and Blame Game," Olafeso lamented the failure of security agencies to identify the forces behind them, their grouses or long term goals.


Some of these issues threatening the existence of Nigeria according to the former information commissioner in the state include Boko Haram, herdsmen militia and various cult groups.

According to him, these crises have long been with Nigeria as a nation and the leaders have failed to either address or ameliorate them.

Olafeso also challenged journalists in the country to point out the variables contributing to the security challenges confronting the nation without fear or favour.

"The media must bring to the fore every variable that contributed to this odious development and situate the blames and responsibility at every door step, that is the essence of investigative journalism," he said.

In his address, the State Chairman of NUJ, James Sowole reiterated the readiness of the union to continuously prioritise the welfare of its members especially in the area of capacity building and urged them to embrace unity for the greatness of the union.

The National President of NUJ, Mr Waheed Odusile who was represented by his Vice in B Zone, Mr Cosmas Oni charged members of the union to shun acts that could belittle the profession in the eye of the public.

He also appealed to all qualified members who are yet to be captured in the NUJ biometrics registration to do so to help get rid of quackery in the profession.

Major highlight of the event was presentation of awards to deserving journalists and other well-meaning citizens on the state.

The journalists who won awards for the stories they wrote the previous year are Isaac Afolabi of Radio Nigeria Positive FM as Sports Reporter of the year 2017 (electronics), Segun Giwa of NAN as Sports Reporter of the year (Print), Hakeem Gbadamosi of Nigerian Tribune as Investigative Reporter (print) and Sunmola Olowookere of The Hope newspaper as the Judicial Reporter (print).

Others are Cameraman of the year, Omobomi Oguntolu, Information Officer of the year, Folasade Olatinpo of Akure South Local government, and the Grassroots reporter of the year (print), Iyiade Akinseye of Alaroye newspaper.

Some public figures who received awards of excellence are Dr. Samson Odedina, Provost of the Federal College of Agriculture as distinguished Educationist and Administrator, Senator Omotayo Alasoadura who was made the life Patron of the Union and the State Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Deaconess Lola Fagbemi for consistent political ideology.

Others are Sir Ademola Adetula, the former Managing Director of Owena Press Limited who was conferred with Award of Distinguished Journalist,  Alhaji Tajudeen Adefisoye who was conferred with the award for philanthropic and community services and member of the House of Representatives from Okitipupa/Irele, Hon. Mike Omogbehin who honoured with Award of Quality Representation.

Dignitaries at the event include the wife of the state governor, Arabirin Betty-Anyanwu Akeredolu, representative of the Deji of Akure, Oba Ogunlade Aladelusi, the Edemo of Akure, High Chief Afolabi Feyehun, Prof Olu Aboluwoye, former Commissioner for Environment, Chief Sola Ebiseni among others.

Sunshine Herald 

Powered by Blogger.
back to top