Mimiko loyalist gets a spot on Buhari's NPC members list

No Comments
File photo: Mimiko welcoming President Buhari to Akure for the APC governorship election rally.

President Muhammadu Buhari has sent the name of a former commissioner for local government and chieftaincy affairs in Ondo state, Dr. Oladiran Iyantan to the Senate as a member of the National Populations Commissioner.

Iyanta who served as commissioner during the tenure of former Governor Olusegun Mimiko is from Ode-Aye in Okitipupa local government area of Ondo state.

He joins 22 other nominees from other states in the country.


The letter seeking their confirmation by the Senate was read at plenary by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki on Tuesday.

Other nominees are Mr. Nwanne  Nwabuisi (Abia), Dr Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Mr. Chidi Ezeoke (Anambra), Mr. Isa Audu Buratai (Borno), Navy Captain Charles  Ogwa (retd.), (Cross River), Mr. Richard Odibo (Delta), Okereke  Onuabuchi (Ebonyi), Mr. Olusegun Aiyejina (Edo), and Mr. Ejike Ezeh (Enugu).

Others are Abubakar Danburam (Gombe), Prof. Uba Nnabue (Imo), Dr. Abdulmalik  Durunguwa (Kaduna), Mr. Sulaiman Ismaila Lawal (Kano), Prof. Jimoh Habibat Isah (Kogi), Dr Sa'adu Alanamu (Kwara), Mr. Nasir Kwarra (Nassarawa), Mr. Aliyu Datti (Niger), Mrs. Seyi Aderinokun Olusanya (Ogun), Sen. Mudashiru Oyetunde Hussain (Osun), Mrs. Cecilia  Dapoet (Plateau), Dr Ipalibo Harry (Rivers), and Sale  Saany (Taraba).

The president also sought the approval of the Senate for the nomination of Senator Abba Ali (Katsina North-West) and Mohammed Sagir (Niger North-Central) into the Federal Judicial Service Commission as non-judicial practitioners members, and Mr. Festus Okoye, representing the South-East as INEC commissioner.

Powered by Blogger.
back to top