Land dispute: Ondo communities protest exclusion

No Comments

Ikale and Ilaje communities in Ondo State have protested their exclusion from the ethnographic survey of their disputed territories by the National Boundary Commission, NBC.

The counsel to the communities, Mr Tosin Omotayo in a statement released to pressmen in Akure, alleged that the NBC deliberately sidelined them from participating in the ongoing discussion.

Omotayo said: "We wish to bring to the attention that our communities were not captured in the ongoing ethnographic survey of the disputed territories in Ondo/Ogun inter-state boundaries.


"Our communities from time immemorial have been part of Ilaje/Ikale administration which are presently Ilaje and Okitipupa Local Governments of Ondo State.

He added that the Ilaje communities include: Itebu-Elero/Manuwa, Irokun, Igbo-Edun, Eba, Mosafejo, Elefon, Olosunmeta and the coast of Ikale communities include: Ayila, Ayetumara in the disputed territories of Ondo and Ogun boundaries.

The communities, however, called the attention of the NBC, the National Assembly, the government of the two states and all stakeholders to sustain the already agreed decision so as to avert an impending crisis.

Powered by Blogger.
back to top