If you are not at work for a day, you lose the salary for that month, Akeredolu tells workers, appointees

No Comments

Governor Akeredolu congratulating Oladunni Odu.

The governor of Ondo state, Mr. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu on Tuesday said his administration will henceforth not tolerate frivolities from workers and political appointees in the state.

Governor Akeredolu made this known during the inauguration of the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) at the Cocoa conference hall in the governor's office.


He said; "We will soon get a state where anybody that works for you must clock in and clock out. The moment you are not at work a day, you will lose the salary for that month.

"We are starting soon, from the local government service to the core civil service and the political appointees.

"If you don't clock in and clock out at the time you are to do, you will not receive salary."

The governor said renovation works will start very soon on all dilapidated structures in all public schools in the state.

"We don't intend to build mega schools, build the schools you can afford, money will come to you, so that there will be to spend.

"If I send someone to you that you should give him work, if he is not capable, please don't give such person work. We are not saying our politicians should not have work to do, give them but make sure they do the work given.

"There are many people I am knowing for the first time who are on the board, this shows that this appointment is not about Aketi. The expectation of our people is so high.

"I want SUBEB to hit the ground running. Madam chairman, I leave SUBEB in your hands. We have entrusted a lot to you, in spite of opposition. We will remain resolute and focused, we will not be deterred by issues.

"Our dear state earned an enviable reputation as the bastion of intellection in the past. This glory was not a product of happenstance, our forbears worked assiduously to achieve greatness. The development of the society was anchored on a steady and clear-headed principle of applying knowledge to solve socio-economic problems.

"Aspirations towards the attainment of lofty objectives were not mere expressions of capricious preferences. The founding fathers of this land toiled ceaselessly to make us prosper. The acquisition of knowledge was considered basic. They were convinced of its value. Education defines the quality of human existence. The training of human being is for the benefit of the society.

"Those who preceded us appreciated this fact. Consequently, it was not uncommon to witness the proliferation of community schools established through direct labour and contributions of people who had come to terms with the reality of happenings in a modern world. Such was the spirit which propelled the society towards self-sufficiency and prosperity.

"Our land became a reference point for the best of values because of our undying belief in education. Agriculture blossomed, extension services yielded bountiful harvests."

In her remarks, the chairperson of SUBEB, Mrs. Oladunni Odu thanked the governor for the confidence reposed in them and assured of their commitment to executing his administration's vision.

"We are highly privileged. It is your prerogative to appoint whoever you want to work with you.

"We members of SUBEB say thank you sir. We are saying we have 100% loyalty to you and committed to the service of Ondo state.

"Basic education is like building a house, and we must have a solid foundation for education in Ondo state."

The newly inaugurated SUBEB members are; Princess Oladunni Odu, chairperson, Princess Olufunmilayo Brown, Full Time Member I, Mr. Tayo Isaac Fayanju, Full Time Member II. Ex-officio members include Augustine Oloruntogbe, North, Adebiyi Ayinuola, Central and Adenikinju George from the South. Other board members are Alhaji Owolaja Abimbola A, Comrade Victor Oladele Amoko and Mrs Ronke Ojo.

Also inaugurated as Education Secretaries are Mr. J. M Oredola (Ose), Mr. Ajibola Adegoroye (Owo), Mr. Femi Kure (Akoko South East), Mr. Akogun Olugbenga Omole (Akoko South West), Mr. Oyeniyi Oseni (Akoko North East), Mrs Folakemi Ogunsile (Akoko North West), Mr Isaac Adu (Akure South).

Others are Mr. Samuel Olowere (Akure North), Mr Alalabiaye Ojo Victor (Idanre), Mr Taye Adegbemigbe (Ifedore), Mr Mathew Muroof Bada (Ondo West), Mr Ola Feyide (Ondo East), Mr J. O. Ojigi (Ese-Odo), Mr. Olamigoke Jatuwase (Ilaje), Mr Sunday Oyepitan (Okitipupa), Mr Johusa Adebusoye (Irele), Mr. Charles Meroyi (Odigbo) and Mrs Bukky Abike Oluderu (IleOluji).

Powered by Blogger.
back to top