Ember months: NURTW tasks drivers on safety

No Comments

The Chairman, National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) Ondo State Council, Comrade Jacob Adebo, popularly called Idajo, has called on members of the union to always drive safely and eschew over speeding in the 'Ember' Months.

Adebo also charged all officers and other members of the union to always work for peace and progress of the union in their various branches and units.

The NURTW boss gave the admonition yesterday in Akure, the Ondo state capital, while swearing-in Akure Zone Branches Chairmen and other officers at the NURTW state Secretariat.

He said his administration would continue to support and cooperate with the Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu-led government to sustain the existing peace in the state just as he called on all officers and other members of the union to eschew all forms of violence and unlawful activities in their areas to ensure accelerated development in the state.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by other state executive members of the union, families and friends of the new Branches Chairmen among other NURTW members.

According to him, the Akeredolu-led administration has restored peace and sanity into the union. He charged all members to continue to give the Governor maximum support.

Adebo who expressed joy and appreciated God for making the day a huge success, also called on the new Branches Chairmen and other officers to pilot the affairs of their branches in accordance with the constitution of the union and shun greed and selfishness.

He described NURTW as a peace loving union and advised all members to stay away from violence, hooliganism, thuggery and other anti-social behaviour.

The Chairman particularly appealed to all members of the NURTW in the state to avoid over speeding, drunk driving and overloading to ensure safe driving as festive period approaches.

Until their swearing-in ceremony, the Chairmen were serving as Coordinators in their respective branches.

Adebo also added that the swearing-in of other Zone Branches Chairmen will come up later.

Powered by Blogger.
back to top