You are called to serve, Akeredolu tells Commissioners

No Comments

Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN), has announced the portfolios of the new state commissioners.

Speaking at a brief meeting with the commissioners at the Council Chambers in the Governor's office, Arakunrin Akeredolu enjoined members of the State Executive Council to hit the ground running in their respective ministries.

He said their appointments must be seen as a call to service at this critical juncture in the life of the state.

"As our Administration renews its pledge to the people to be accountable at all times, there is the urgent need for rededication by all those who serve the public.

"We must encourage broad and massive participation of our people in the business of government."

He added that government and governance should not be stultifying abstractions, distant and disconnected from the service to which these modern concepts evolved to proffer.

"Those who lay claims to legitimacy of representation, as deriving from the people, must always keep their focus on this time-tested objective.

"Governance should not be reduced to a circus show; specious, ostentatious and profligate exhibition of inanities. Any decision or action of acclaimed representatives of the people must be an answer to identifiable socio-economic challenge.

Akeredolu stated that elected and appointed public officials must subject their individual preferences to the collective will, adding that performance must be measured in terms of its positive impact on the people.

"If development is about the people, all decisions and actions must be for the realisation of this lofty objective. Any opportunity offered for service must be understood in this context.

"Nobody must consider his or her choice, out of numerous other equally eminent candidates, as an invitation to primitive self-aggrandisement.

"This Administration will not permit it. Any conduct which seeks to perpetuate the misery of the people will be discouraged actively.

"No appointment is "juicy". Every ministry, agency and established public office is important. This Administration shall extend equal attention to all offices.  It would be a mistake, with grave consequences, for anyone to act in a manner which negates decency and decorum", the Governor said.

The commissioners and their portfolios are as follows: Rt. Hon Taofiq Abdulsalam (Works and Infrastructure), Mr. Rasheed Badmus (Natural Resources) and Prince Solagbade Amodeni (Physical Planning and Urban Development).

Also, Otunba Adegboyega Adefarati  will head (Agriculture), Mr Saka Yusuf Ogunleye (Youth and Sports Development), Hon. Omowumi Olatunji-Edet (Women Affairs and Social Development), Mr. Donald Ojogo (Lands and Housing) and Mr. Yemi Olowolabi (Information and Orientation).

Others are: Dr Wahab Adegbenro (Health), Mr Funso Esan (Environment), Mr Wale Akinterinwa (Finance), Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan (Economic Planning and Budget), Alhaji Olurimisi Ismaila (Culture and Tourism) and Mr. Femi Agagu, (Education, Science and Technology).

The rest are Professor Bayonile Ademodi (Regional Integration and Special Duties), Hon. Lola Fagbemi (Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs), Otunba Timilehin Adelegbe, (Commerce, Industries and Cooperatives) and Kola Olawoye, Esq,  'Justice'.

The  State Governor had earlier during the meeting read the portfolios of the ten Special Advisers who are also part of the State Cabinet as follows:

 Mrs Bunmi Ademosu (Public Inter Government Relations), Mr. Alaba Isijola (Union Matters), Mr Boye Oyewumi (Investment and Development), Engineer Raheem Aminu (Lands, Works and Infrastructure) and Hon. Olatunji Fabiyi (Political  Matters).

Others are: Dr Olawumi Ilawole (Education), Engineer Tunji Ariyo  (Public Utilities), Tobi Ogunleye, Esq. (Transport), Dr. Jibayo Adeyeye (Health) and Rt.; Hon. Victor Olabimtan (Rural and Community Development).

Powered by Blogger.
back to top