NUJ Correspondents Chapel to prioritize training, retraining of members

No Comments

The Correspondents Chapel of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Ondo State, has said it would encourage its members to always acquire training and retraining in the profession. 

The new chairman of the chapel, Mr. Ojo Oyewamide, promised to secure admission for interested members and sponsor them to acquire higher qualifications to promote professionalism.

Oyewamide stated this today in Akure during the inauguration of the new executive members of the chapel. 

He said the sponsorship would enable members who had obtained various certificates in other disciplines but lacked professional certificates in mass communication or journalism to make up.


"We will give pride of place to training and retraining of our members. 

"The Chapel will liaise with some institutions within and outside the state to secure admissions for our members who are willing to pursue more qualifications. 

"We are going to try to have a training and retraining fund for our members. This new leadership will work on idea of this fund.

"We envisage a situation in which the chapel will have a handsome pool of funds set aside from which our members can be helped.

"We will see how to put together events where this pool of funds can be raised for the good of our members. 

"A board of trustees will be set up to administer the fund," he said. 

He promised that he would operate a participatory administration where all members would contribute towards the development of the chapel.

The chairman assured members that their welfare would be taken care of, urging them to adhere to the ethics of the profession.

He commented the members for giving him the mandate to run the affairs of the chapel for the next three years.

The Chief Press Secretary to Ondo state governor,  Segun Ajiboye who was at the inauguration, commended the chapel for the peaceful change of leadership. 

He expressed the willingness of government to always support and partner with the media in the state.

Other members of the executive committee are Olabode Olatunde of Unique FM, Secretary; Bola Oriola of Daily Trust, Vice Chairman and Iyiade Oluseye of Alaroye, Treasurer. 

Powered by Blogger.
back to top