Ondo Gov. Akeredolu sets up committee to honour MKO Abiola

No Comments

Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu has constituted a five-man committee to honour winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, Moshood Kashimawo Olawale (MKO) Abiola.

According to reports by Sahara Reporters, the committee is to be headed by former Head of Service in Ondo state, Alaba Isijola, while other members are: Doyin Odebowale, Margaret Atere, and Omo'ba Abayomi Adesanya, the All Progressives Congress, APC Publicity Secretary in the state. 

Mr. Michael Oshodi will serve as the secretary of the committee.

The letter appointing members of the committee was signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Ifedayo Abegunde.

"The committee, which is required to swing into action expeditiously, is to highlight/incorporate the five (5) cardinal agenda of the present administration in the designated theme for the symposium," the letter read in part. 

A member of the committee who spoke with Sahara Reporters was quoted as saying the committee is looking at naming one of the most important government projects or properties in the state after MKO.

He also stated that the government will also "possibly initiate a lifelong project to immortalise the death of the living legend."

It will be recalled that Governor Akeredolu in his democracy day address declared that the state will henceforth observe June 12 as a public holiday.‎

Powered by Blogger.
back to top