Assembly names more principal officers in Ondo

No Comments

The Ondo State House of Assembly yesterday announced more names of new principal officers to pilot the affairs of the Assembly and move the House forward.

The Speaker of the House, Right Hon Bamidele Oleyelogun read out the names of the new principal officers at the plenary sitting.

The officers include Deputy Speaker, Ogundeji Iroju; Majority Leader, Hon Olugbenga Araoyinbo; Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Olusegun Ajimotoki, and Chief Whip, Hon. Oluyede Feyide.

Others are Whip, Hon. Akintimehin Tuyi; Parliamentary Secretary, Jamiu Maito; Minority Leader, Ebiwonjumi Sola; Minority Whip, Akindiose Olusiji and Assistant Parliamentary Secretary, Fasogbon Akinyele.

The hallowed chamber also reeled out the names of Chairmen and members of the various Standing Committees of the House.

The names include Right Hon. Bamidele Oleyelogun, Chairman, House Committee on Selection.

Other Chairmen and their committees are: Hon. Ogundeji Iroju,  Cash Allocation and Welfare; Hon. Olugbenga Araoyinbo, Rules and Business; Rt. Hon. Malachi Coker, OSOPADEC; Hon. Kemisola Adesanya,  Women Affairs and Social Development; Hon. Kazeem Sulaiman, Health; Hon. Jamiu Sulaiman,  Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; and Hon. Musa Mukaila, Works.

There are: Hon. George Olamide, Information, Youth and Sport Development;  Hon. Akinyele Fasogbon, Agriculture and Natural Resources; Rt. Hon. Fatai Olotu, Judiciary Anti-Corruption and Public Petitions; Hon. Akintimehin Tuyi,  MDGs; Hon. Towase Kuti, Accelerated Poverty Alleviation; Hon. Olusegun Ajimotoki, Education- Pry, Sec. and Auxiliary; Hon. Feyide Oluyede, Land Housing and Urban Development; Hon. Ade Adeniyi, Culture and Tourism; Hon. Vincent Obadiah, Petroleum and Environment and Hon. Sola Ebiwonjumi, Commerce and Industry.

They also include: Hon. Ifedayo Akinsoyinu, Human Capital Development and Training; Hon. Abayomi Akinruntan, Public Utilities and Transport; Hon. Olusiji Akindiose, Community Development and Cooperatives; Hon. Samuel Arowele, Tenders; Hon. Felemu Gudu-Bankole, Vocational Technical and Tertiary Institutions; Hon. Sunday Olajide, Public Accounts; Rt Hon. Jumoke Akindele, Employment Labour and Productivity; Hon. Abimbola Fajolu, Diaspora and International Matters, and Hon. Olugbenga Araoyinbo, Security and Communication.

The Speaker charged the principal officers as well as the chairmen together with members of the 28 Standing Committees to be up and doing and see their various positions as calls to duty to serve their people and Ondo state at large.

He further charged all the MDAs to always cooperate with the various committees while performing their oversight functions in the best interest of the state and that they should not see their oversight functions as witch-hunt.

He added that the inauguration of the new principal officers and the constitution of the Standing Committees was to move the Assembly forward.

No fewer than 22 members of the House attended the plenary sitting.

All the appointments, according to Oleyelogun, take immediate effect.

Meanwhile, the  Assembly has set up a five man committee to probe the circumstances surrounding the controversial N15m found in the hand of a pay master of the assembly.

The Speaker on the floor of the House yesterday named Hon. Barrister Olusegun Ajimotoki as Chairman of the five-member committee.

Other members include Hon. Olamide George; Hon. Olusiji Akindiose; Hon. Malachi Coker and Hon. Sulaiman Maito as Secretary.

The committee is to look into the controversial 15 million naira and how to effectively utilize the money. The committee is expected to submit its report by tomorrow.

Powered by Blogger.
back to top